ReCAAP membership grows

Crystal Chan

More countries have joined the Regional Cooperation Agreement on Combating Piracy and Armed Robbery against Ships in Asia (ReCAAP).

The Singapore-headquartered organisation was founded in November 2004 in the wake of growing robberies in Asian waters after the 1997 Asian financial crisis. At the time of its establishment, ReCAAP began with eight ASEAN members. Currently, ReCAAP has 19 signatories, including the China, Denmark, Japan, Norway, South Korea and the United Kingdom. Australia was the latest to join, coming on board last year. The United States is expected to join ReCAAP. ReCAAP said in a statement after its eighth governing council meeting that it welcomed the accession of Australia to the ReCAAP.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s