Mauritius: Four countries jostle to host Maritime Centre

Four countries have announced their willingness to host the Maritime Information Fusion Centre that will soon be established in South-West Indian Ocean by the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC), PANA learnt from the IOC in Mauritius Sunday.
The countries include three IOC members – Madagascar, Seychelles and Mauritius – as well as Kenya

According to IOC’s Secretary-General Jean-Claude de L’Estrac, the centre constitutes an indispensable cooperation tool for the success of maritime security operations through its function of exchange and sharing of maritime information collected by each of the states in this part of the world.

”It is important to have such information that allows us to analyse the maritime traffic before engaging in coordinated operations at sea,” he said.

De L’Estrac said while technological progress had facilitated access to the immense natural wealth in the ocean, “insecurity is today an obstacle that prevents us from reaping such opportunities.”

To read the entire article, please click here.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s