A Huge Step Forward in Tackling Piracy in the Gulf of Guinea


Today, 13 March, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Commission will inaugurate the multinational maritime coordination centre (MMCC) for a maritime zone known as Pilot Zone E.

Taking place in Cotonou, Benin, this marks an important step in the implementation of the ECOWAS Integrated Maritime Strategy (EIMS). It is solid proof of member states’ commitment to solving the critical issue of maritime piracy, along with other illicit activities at sea. Pilot Zone E is considered the most dangerous maritime zone in West Africa, and stronger protection efforts are needed in this area, which encompasses Benin, Niger, Nigeria and Togo.

Once inaugurated, the centre in Cotonou will coordinate joint activities between the four states. This includes patrols, information sharing, training and drills. In accordance with the guidelines set out in EIMS, the centre is required to report to the Regional Maritime Security Coordination Centre of West Africa.

It will also work with the multinational maritime coordination centres of Zones F and G, thereby completing the maritime security architecture at the sub-regional level. Zone F includes Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, and Sierra Leone, while Zone G is made up of Cape Verde, the Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Mali and Senegal.

To read the entire article, please click here.

Source: http://allafrica.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s